April in the Garden

View from the garden entrance, with the crabapples budding.

View from the garden entrance, with one of the crabapples in bloom.

In just a few short weeks, the community garden has transitioned from the first buds and tentative blossoms of spring to full-on splendor. Tulips and daffodils in personal plots are coming up.

A view from the birdbath with the crabapples in bloom.

The crabapple trees are full of blossoms.

Crabapple blossoms.

Along the borders, enjoy the groupings of tulips, such as these pink and white beauties.

Pink and white tulips.

Pink and white tulips.

You’ll also find these dramatic red and yellow tulips.

Red tulips with a yellow border, with a daffodil in the background.

Red tulips with a yellow edges, with a daffodil and sedum in the background.

You’ll also find daffodils, mini daffodils and grape hyacinths, as well as lamium.

The lilac by the birch tree is in bloom, so be sure to inhale deeply when you’re in that corner. (It’s not often you can take a big breath in NYC and confidently expect a pleasant smell, so take advantage now.)

The lilac in bloom.

Here’s a white hyacinth.

White hyacinth.

Hyacinth.

The borders also feature thoughtful groupings of flowers, such as this study in purple.

Groupings of flowers in shades of purple along the garden wall.

Spring study in purple.

Conversely, I try to have a plan every year, but my plot just ends up a riot of color. It looks lovely in person and is eye-catching when passing by, but this snap I took on a rainy day on my way to the bus doesn’t do it justice. Right now, there are mainly tulips and daffodils. There’s also some lamium (dead nettle) that needs some editing; the bumblebees love these flowers and they’re pretty, but they are weedy. I was worried my hostas weren’t coming up from last year, but I discovered the shoots among the dead nettle. My floxgloves also have returned, and a hollyhock showed up.

My garden plot.

I took the photo below early in the month, when I’d resigned myself to having only one tulip bloom at a time this year.

I think this is an Ivory Floradale Darwin Hybrid Tulip.

As always, I completely forgot what I planted. According to my bulb order from the fall, I ordered some Ivory Floradale Hybrid Tulips. These look about right.

Most likely an Ivory Floradale Darwin Hybrid Tulip.

The plants below are from a pastel mix I ordered in late November, when I realized I hadn’t ordered any bulbs. At least I think they are. I was pleasantly surprised by their varied colors.

Purple pastel tulip.

Purple pastel tulip.

Creamy pink and white pastel tulip.

Creamy pink and white pastel tulip. It looks pretty and vaguely delicious.

I don’t know what this yellow tulip below with the red edges and lone red petal was, but in addition to the strawberry Creamsicle of a tulip above, it might be among my favorites this year so far. It arrived early and by itself—there were no others like it.

Yellow tulip with red edges and a red petal.

Yellow tulip with red edges and a red petal.

Yellow tulip with red edges and a red petal.

Yellow tulip with red edges and a red petal.

These pretty red tulips may have been my special free gift tulips from the bulb catalog.

Red tulips.

Red tulips.

Princess Irene tulips arrived with my bulb order since my Ollioule mix was out of stock, and it looks as if these flowers may be them!

Princess Irene tulips. Possibly.

Princess Irene tulips. Possibly.

We’ll be blogging more about the garden blooms as we head into May. If you have any photos you would like to send to the blog, please contact us.

Leave a Reply

